Forget the fake names in the club. Get a Second Mobile Number instead…

An offer for my darling boys and girls…

Online. Dating.

These two words strike fear in my heart the way “we need to talk” strikes fear in the hearts of men.

I once heard dates described as a job interview with drinks. For every LinkedIn, there’s an eHarmony (hell, some guys will even try to chop you via LinkedIn. Raise your hand if this has happened to you…) People lie on their resumes…and some people (ahem, everybody) lies on their dating profiles. So when you meet Mr. or Mrs. Right online, you have to worry if they’re going to be Mrs. Right Out of an episode of Maury…

You’ve been on HOW many times? But you still don’t know who the father is? Really? 

In a world where everyone is someone else (to some degree), what’s your safeguard?

Think about it. I once met a guy online and it was the most boring. Date. I. Have. Ever. Had. Ever. In. My. Whole. Dating. Life. You know what he had for his meal? A small salad. Even the waitress said “that’s IT?!” (Apparently, he ate right before our date, which was always supposed to be a lunch). Post date, I thought that he felt the absolute zero chemistry we had going on. He didn’t.

My incoming call log on my phone looked like a cellphone version of the Shining.  For two weeks! The calls and texts started about 3 hours after the date ended. I would be on the phone complaining to my best friend about him calling, and there he’d be…CALLING ON THE OTHER LINE! When he realized I was ignoring his cell, he would call me from his office. This? This was just bad. I lived in fear of my phone.

How did I get rid of him? By telling him that I was going to be busy with a project for the next six months.

He called six months later. I was thisclose to changing my number.

Well, someone obviously felt my pain and came up with a great idea…

What is it you ask? MyAka.com. A second mobile number that you can use to protect your privacy and ensure your dating sanity remains intact.

When the peeps over at MyAka.com emailed me with this offer, I thought “where the hell were you people 8 years ago?!”

This is how it works: you sign up, get an alternate mobile number that directs to your phone. THIS is the number that you give to the Mr. or Mrs. I’m Not Sure Yet types until you’re ready to reveal the real number. I’m thinking that the three-date rule can be used with this system; after three good dates, you can give up your real number. 

A second mobile number? Now, for those who want to scream out that this is like lying, it’s really no different than giving out only your work number to someone until you feel they’re cool, right? Safety is key with online dating, and anything that can help you from getting over 50 calls from the same fool with a trapezoid shaped head (really, he did) is a genius idea in my opinion.

Oh, and it’s not just for people with misshapen heads either. One dude told me about a date that went well. On the second date, the girl admitted that she had a knife in her bag “just in case”.

I think he would’ve preferred that she had a MyAKA number instead.

Check out the features:

  • Second number in users local area code, allowing two mobile numbers on one phone.
  • Real number protection on incoming and outgoing calls unlike forwarding services. (no slip ups!)
  • The assigned number is not linked to user information in any way.
  • Full voice and text message support in the United States and Canada.
  • Easy number blocking and unblocking.
  •  Do Not Disturb feature which sends calls to voicemail and stores text messages when enabled.
  •  No apps, downloads or internet required.  All features are controlled via text message.

And you get a free 7 Day Trial (just in time for the weekend!) just by clicking this link.

Catch?

None. I’m thinking you’re going to make good use of your number. After 7 days, you’ll get a chance to upgrade and it’ll take a couple of quick clicks to make the number yours for as long as you want.

Now, this is a sponsored post, but I wouldn’t be sharing this if I didn’t think it made sense.

You don’t have to worry about any “maybes” either. Call away, call as much as you want (DON’T call 42 times, please!), give it out as freely as you feel to.

Then, by date three…you can do the big reveal.

Your real number.

3 thoughts on “Forget the fake names in the club. Get a Second Mobile Number instead…

  1. I think this could be an interesting concept. Although, I’ve never really had any problem getting rid of someone before. But what I’m really fixated on about this post is the knife in the purse. Just me?

    • Yup. Apparently a knife to gut fish with or something. All he had was the “emergency” text at an appointed hour. However, she was 5’3 and he is 6’5… That might be why she felt she needed that “protection”?

  2. Listen to me.
    This is the best thing since sliced bread. And once I’m ready to get back on the scene best believe I’m making use of this!!!
    One thing I miss about blackberry (rip) was the ability and willingness for people to accept taking your pin as a means of communication. That way – when I needed to, I could delete you and no muss, no fuss. Sure they could pin you – but it was never that serious. Sigh. The good ole days.
    *archives post

Leave a Reply

