Slow and Seductive (Songs)

Based on a comment I made on Twitter, someone asked me what songs would I choose to slow dance to. Oh gawd, do you know how many songs that would be? I loved this question, because I love to slow dance. Yeah. Go’head and laugh. I know that my persona doesn’t really match that statement, but one of the millions of ways to HLBB’s heart is a good, slow, dance. I could slow dance for hours. So, I went through my iTunes, and here are my suggestions. These favoured slow songs are because of the lyrics and how they were sung. But usually it’s a line or two that hit me and it gets added to the list of songs I’d slow dance to…the list is always growing.

By the way, this was a lot more fun than the other post I was working on, which was about unappreciated and unhappy wives/girlfriends…But I’m still going to post that.

P.S. to the guy who asked the question, “the best time/place?” Spontaneously. When she’s least expecting it. Just throw the song on and ask her to dance. Review old episodes of the Cosby Show; Cliff was the master of this. Oh, and I don’t think slow songs can be effectively used as a seduction tactic…they’re best used when you’ve already gotten the girl.

Eric Clapton – Wonderful Tonight

I feel wonderful/Because I see the love light in your eyes/And the wonder of it all/Is that you just don’t realize/How much I love you…

Jodeci – Lately

A version that I love more than the original…

Lately I’ve been staring in the mirror/And It’s very slowly picking me apart/I’ve tried to tell myself I have no reason/With your heart

George Michael – I Can’t Make You Love Me

Again, another song I love more than the original. Yeah, I know Adele did her own version. Doesn’t stack up.

Turn down the lights/turn down the bed/
Turn down these voices inside my head/
Lay down with me/tell me no lies…

Meshell Ndegeocello – Outside Your Door

One of the best decisions Madonna ever made was to give this woman a record deal…

Here I sit outside your door/Talk to me/No one can ever love you more/Talk to me.

D’Angelo – Lady

Warning. You must have rhythm to slow dance to this song. No stiff box step with this track. Come correct or don’t use the song at all.

I’m tired of hiding what we feel /I’m trying to come with the real/And I’m gonna make it know/’Cause I want them to know

Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah

Maybe it’s because I’m morbid, but I don’t get why this song is used for death scenes on so many TV shows. Keeping that in mind, you may not want to use it, lest the lady think you’re dying or something. When I heard a local singer do Buckley’s version live this lyric hit me:

But remember when I moved in you/And the holy dove was moving too/And every breath we drew was Hallelujah…

(I wanted to take him home, but settled for being his friend…sigh)

Enzo Enzo – Les Yeux Ouverts

You’ll recognize the melody even if you don’t know the words.

De chéri mon amour, comme je m’ennuie/Tous les jours se ressemblent à present/Tu me manques terriblement…

Maxwell – Fistful of Tears

This voice.

Open your eyes/See what’s in front of your face/Save me my fistful of tears…

Nina Simone – Black is the Colour of My True Love’s Hair

Flawless.

Lenny Kravitz – It Ain’t Over ‘til it’s Over

So much time wasted/Playing games with love…

Simply Red – Holding Back the Years

Man, Mick Hucknall is a funny looking dude. But he can sing.

I’ve wasted all my tears/Wasted all of those years/And nothing had the chance to be good/Cause nothing ever could oh yeah…

N’Sync – Gone

Judge me all you fucking want. I love this song.

There’s a thousand words that I could say/to make you come home…

Michael Jackson – Butterflies

My favourite MJ song.

I just wanna touch and kiss/And I wish that I could be with you tonight/You give me butterflies inside, inside and I…

Maria McKee – If Love is a Red Dress (Hang Me in Rags)

I have slowed danced to this song. He played the song repeatedly. Any time I hear this song, I’m taken back to the best slow dance I’ve ever had.

I’ve laid it on the table/You had something back/If love is Aces/Give me the Jack…

Prince – Adore

Do I have to explain this…?

Until the end of time / I’ll be there for u/U are my heart and mind/truly I adore u…

(no, no YouTube link. A: I won’t find one and B: if you don’t have this song in your iTunes, I can’t acknowledge your existence…)

Go ahead, tell me what I missed.

UPDATE: I forgot a couple…

Rufus Chaka Khan – Tell Me Something Good

Like D’Angelo, you need rhythm for this one…

 

Rufus Chaka Khan – Sweet Thing

I think you are the one for me /Here is where you ought to be/I just want to satisfy, ya/Though you’re not mine/I can’t deny, ya/Don’t you hear me talking baby/Love me now or I’ll go crazy

3 thoughts on “Slow and Seductive (Songs)

  1. no Al Green, ‘simply beautiful’? all though, true say, I can hear my boy saying, ‘Al Green beat his wife’, every time this song comes on. re: ‘Tell Me Something Good’, yes rhythm required. something about the shift between the verse and the chorus messes me up occasionally. lol.

Leave a Reply

