The Cooking Question…

Okay. I need to take this to you dear readers…especially you my darling boys.

This has happened to me on more than one occasion and it’s a huge turnoff. A guy will be chatting me up, ask my name (“BB”), my status (“single”), ask one other innocuous question (“marketing”/”Toronto”/”I’m here with friends”) and then he’ll ask…

“Do you know how to cook?”

If you follow me on Twitter, then you know I tend to use my stove as storage. While I do know HOW to cook, can cook a variety of dishes, and have even obtained a recipe from a friend in a club, I HATE cooking. I find it to be the most tedious task in the world. Once, I had a guy stress the importance of handing down our “culture” to our future daughter through cooking. When it happened this past weekend, I asked him why he was asking. His response “well, if I’m going to invite myself over for dinner, I want to know that you know what you’re doing in the kitchen…”

Gah.

Ranting to the BBFF about this and he said he’s never asked that upfront; another guy said it was probably just general conversation. But, it still pisses me off. The BBFF suggested that I take it to the blog…

So guys, I will now ask you: how important is it that she cooks? How important is it that you know this when you have your first conversation with her?

 

3 thoughts on “The Cooking Question…

  1. I didn’t care for the choices on Q2 – I don’t care if she cooks, it only matters as a bonus if she is willing to help me cook (I like to cook/bake and doing it with a significant other makes it twice as fun- even if all she does is chop veggies, peel or add/mix items or just hang in the kitchen while I prep) but it is far from a dealbreaker if she can not cook. I have never asked

Leave a Reply

