Attention all Attention Whores…

LOOK AT YOU!!!

We see you. Dressed head to toe in your favourite label (which everyone knows about because you tell them) with the bottle of Smirnoff sent to the table, shouting down everyone involved in the conversation because you know you’re right…

We see you. Playing with the latest gadget that you just had to have. In the club with your arm candy (or table full of random women drinking your Smirnoff)…and all the while, looking around to see who’s looking.

What you don’t see are all the women who see right through you.

Writer JonellG clarified it for me. An attention whore is someone that thrives off of the attention of others. They need it, it almost makes them seem insecure…

Confidence is a common theme that runs through my posts. That’s usually because the primary reason for failure with women is the lack of. So you, darling attention whore, load up an arsenal of tricks and props, in an effort to mask your insecurity and conceal your true self…

Meh. Enough wannabe psychiatrist crap. Y’all need to stop begging for attention and start earning it.

TMFI (too much fashion information)…
Unless Jeanne Beker is interviewing you, shut up about your clothes. I love a well dressed man who knows what he’s wearing. I really do. I make it well known my weakness for a man in a suit. But I (as well as many other women) go weak in the knees at the sight of the b-boy in the t-shirt and jeans. As long as it’s put together, we’re loving it.

However, I couldn’t love a man who wears his label whorism on his sleeve…in fact I know few women who would. So, when she says “I love (item x) who’s it by?” Please just respond with “I got item x at…” or “it’s by…” and leave it there. Do not go into a detailed account of how you found item x in your favourite store in NYC where you go shopping twice a year. Y’know, the place where the manager sends you new stock alerts via BBM and you make the pilgrimage down because you just can’t find good clothes here…

Do you see how pretentious that sounds? Yes, that was an real conversation I had with a guy once. As attractive (and straight), as he was, it felt like I was discussing shopping with one of my girls. If a woman loves fashion, she’ll know what it is. That’s what fashion loving women are doing when they touch you (besides wanting to feel you up); they are gauging the clothes. Clothes actually do not make the man. The man makes the style and the clothes compliment him.

Inside voices please…
This is probably one of the biggest giveaways that you are an attention whore…BECAUSE EVERYONE CAN HEAR YOU!! Seriously, you have a point, it may even be valid, but since you’re not on a rooftop to shout it, PLEASE do not shout IT IN MY FACE! I too have opinions, ‘cause just like assholes, everyone has one. You however are just being an asshole. You argue an opinion with facts and it’s the person with the most compelling argument wins, not the loudest. You know that guy who comes to the party and announces something like “the party can start because I’m here!”? Yeah. We can’t wait for that guy to leave…

Oh? Was that you? Okay, thanks. We’ll just forget the last 2 hours of fun we were having because you have now arrived “fashionably late”.

Sidebar: it’s only “fashionably late” if you are working IN fashion. Arrive no later than 15 minutes in and leave when it’s time to go…

It’s you against the world…
Everyone’s a hater. You got a bunch of enemies. People are always jealous. If it wasn’t for you so and so wouldn’t be where they are now…

If you feel compelled to tell EVERYONE about the sins your enemies commit against you, and wonder in the next breath why you have “haters”, you need to sit the fuck down.

Guess what? I know people who don’t like me…there are people who cannot stand me. Whether they don’t like me because I’ve been “successful” or because of my “charming” (read: harsh) personality, is up to them. But I call it for what it is. I don’t have haters; I have people in this world who just don’t like me. Look, no one can honestly begrudge well deserved or hard-earned successes. Having a lot of haters does not make you a great person; having a lot of haters makes you a person who has a tendency to be unlikeable.

Is your name Vincent Chase? No.
Sigh. I dated a man and his entourage once. No. I wasn’t a slut, I mean that I had to deal with his hangers-on. HE couldn’t go anywhere by himself, he had to have a crew of people around him and because of that, people (reluctantly) paid attention to him because they thought he was someone to watch. We went to a party once, he left me to “network”. Half an hour later, a stranger that I had struck up a conversation with introduced me to my honey, not realizing that we were together. The joke was that they stranger was telling my honey that I was a person to meet. Nope…we didn’t last. You attention whores don’t share spotlights.

Drama King…
From being the one who has to start a dance battle in the club to the guy who has to start a fight with the guy in line ahead of him at Starbucks to the guy who huffs and puffs over every little grievance… this post is for you. YOU had to the be the guy to say something right? YOU had to be the one to step in and take control. YOU Need to stop and think whether or not YOU really HAD to do anything.

BE the well dressed man. BE the one with the compelling argument in a debate or the raconteur who has a great story to tell (just not the same one over and over). BE the guy that buys a round without having it brought to the table by the bottle service girl. BE the best dancer in the room. BE the guy people admire for his achievements. BE about you. BE about your generosity without waiting for a chorus of “thank you’s.

BE the guy who understands that modesty is more than a virtue, it’s a skill.

BE that guy and maybe the right women will start paying attention to you.

One thought on “Attention all Attention Whores…

  1. Yes! It is a form of insecurity. They wear labels, talk real loud,etc…to hide the weak person that they feel people would not accept. Great post!!!

Leave a Reply

